I Heart My Dog

I know I probably get obnoxious talking about how great Phin is, but I cant help myself. Here it is again—I freaking love this dog.

We headed down to an ASCA trial today for some FEO* action. Signed up for two jumpers runs, one standard and gamblers. Unfortunately we left before gamblers (trial was moving at a snail’s pace and I had family stuff to do), but that was probably for the best.

His jumpers runs were awesome. He was just perfect, any very minor glitches we had were entirely me. No weaves, just jumps and a single tunnel, and very, very easy courses. He also had to run at 16″ since he was FEO and underage. He clocked in on his jumpers runs at a smoking 6.26 and 6.4 YPS. Even I cant quite believe that. He seemed average speed (for him) to me which is fast, but… I dunno. Regardless of stats I am just in awe of how awesome a worker he was. He even found a real live gopher and gopher hole at the warm up jump (just like the one he is currently obsessing over in the backyard) and I was able to get him away from it to work. Pete did get us eliminated on the second run by throwing Phin’s toy to him right as he crossed out of the ring—they were uber-sticklers about the no-toys-or-food-within-10′-of-the-ring rule. Oh well, at least we got “E’d” on an FEO run. Lol.

Standard wasnt as nice to look at but it went pretty much as I planned/walked it. He did the teeter (slow to get into his down contact but held criteria so I was happy). I stopped him and made him sit and wait before the DW and then sent him (he ran through the contact the first time so I put him back on in a 2o2o), and we skipped the Aframe altogether. He had to try twice to get his weave entry too, but then he nailed them. Its all good, zero complaints from me and its probably a bit early to be be expecting anything else from him Standard-wise any way.

We did have some drama first thing on the measuring table but thankfully the lady measuring (not the judge) was a saint and worked with us. I went back to the table later in the day and did some more shaping to get up there and be happy about it so we made progress, but that was with just me, no scary ladies looming about. He didnt bark or growl at her either though, so again, I’m not going to complain. If table squirrelyness was the worst of what we dealt with today, I’ll happily take it.

I dont think I’m dying to run ASCA again any time soon as I found the courses pretty boring, but, in general the people were very, very nice. Probably 5 different people came up to me to compliment Phin, including the judge. So, that was nice and a bit different than the snobbery that can happen at AKC in particular. There were a few familiar faces but not the usual assortment of people that I have gotten used to. One older man there was running two Mals and while I didnt particularly care for his handling (or the fact that one of them was being walked on a pinch collar), I did very much like his dogs. I have a Mal-obsession right now, we’ll see if its still there in a few more years…

Phinny’s two jumpers runs, I look like a dork especially in the first go. Sorry, not-so-great iPhone footage but just glad Pete was there to film it.

We have another work agility demo the first week in June which will be a perfect warm up for his first USDAA trial the following weekend. And then the summer off which looks like its going to be difficult to do after how much fun I had today. Did I mention how much I love this dog…??? 🙂

*For Exhibition Only–ie. he wasnt “competing” against the other dogs but I still got his times and faults etc. He got second in our first run by 2 tenths of a second, and won the second jumpers run. Our main competition was a really nice fast young dog run by a handler I’ve always really enjoyed watching. Her older Aussie Enzo is blazing fast and wins most all the local stuff at 16″. It was great to have her there for a comparison.

5 thoughts on “I Heart My Dog

      • Hah. Thanks Deb! He does love it–we have an almost daily battle of the wills as I park next to the training center at work. Every evening as we leave, if he’s not on leash he runs to the door of the TC, wanting to go in there and “play” rather than get in the car. Not a bad problem to have I guess. 🙂

Leave a Reply

