Status Report

I was looking back on some blog posts and found my goals for this year. I always feel like I am never doing enough, or keeping up to where I “should” be (where/whatever that is). But, looking over the list, I am pretty darn happy with where we are halfway through the year. I may need to do this whole goal-setting thing more often…

Forest:
– clean up his contacts (go back to upholding actual criteria for his 2o2o DW. keep training the Aframe to remove the two-hit fly off issue we have once he gets really moving);
In progress and have been spending time on. Could always do more, but I haven’t been ignoring this one.
– finish his AX title in AKC; Mmm, not so much on this one, but I think we’ve only done 2, maybe 3 AKC trials so far this year? We got one of those dastardly Ex A Standard legs, one more still to go. But we do have 6 months! I think its pretty doable.
– finish his USDAA AAD title, move up into all Masters; We are so close on this one! Only one more pairs leg to go. Next time, I am doing a draw. We are developing a pairs curse when I pair with people I like. I think maybe I wont feel so much pressure with a stranger. Sorry strangers!
– get a Grand Prix Q; Done and done! 🙂
– if the GP Q happens we can think about nationals… Nope. Not gonna do it. He’s not ready and I dont really see the point. (Not to mention that whole cost issue.)
– keep him running “up” and happy, give him fair/equal time for training; We’ve been pretty good on this, so much depends on the weather and his general mood—hence the skipping trialing in the Summer part. But overall, he does seem generally happier and more in the game when we do run. He does still deserve more training time, though as always I do believe less-is-more with him.
– keep him fit;This is actually my biggest concern at this point. We now have no “official” classes, just me trying to squeeze in independent training time for both dogs and F always gets the short end of the stick. I do need to find more beach and hiking time though, no excuses!
– get his CA (Coursing Ability) title; This hasnt happened, but its very low a priority and we havent exactly had many options. There’s only been one event within driving distance over the last 9 months, and I had to work so… If one goal is to fall off the radar, this is the one. However, he does deserve as much coursing time as he can get.

Phin:
– keep working on the basics. clean up his heeling and get an actual “swing”. get better sits, downs from a distance. get a stand on verbal;
In progress/almost there on the swing and heeling, distance downs and sits… meh. Started the stand. I also will pat myself on the back for continuing to work on Foundation skills with him, particularly Impulse Control and Body Awareness. Some of that is me and some is due to the SG contacts course. Either way we’re sticking with the foundation stuff, I actually love doing it.
– keep working on handling–both agility handling on the flat and more importantly, everyday let-me-look-in-your-mouth handling; Yep and I need to keep working on it. Nail trims, still a battle.
– make a decision about his dogwalk–running or 2o2o–and stick with it; This one was/is a biggie, and I did make a decision and I will be sticking with it. Yay me. We are doing a 2o2o dogwalk and a running Aframe. And a 4on teeter but that was never a question. I have been working pretty diligently on all fronts and things are progressing.
– try some fun runs and practices in the Spring; Check.
– he could start running AKC as early as March… but I think I will be waiting ’til May at the earliest; We shined doing any AKC yet. Wasn’t ready, but he will be for the DASH trial in August.
– try to have him ready for USDAA starters in the fall. He’s eligible in June, but September-October is probably more realistic; I cheated on this one a bit, but I couldn’t resist missing one of only two yearly USDAA trials in SD the week he turned eligible. As I posted, all went swimmingly. Unfortunately his next USDAA opp wont be until October.
– keep looking for somewhere we can train outdoors down here in SoCA; I have contacted Anne to see if she had spots in her evening classes. I was a bit premature as she wants them running full courses, contacts and all for her Novice class. But we’ll be ready by the end of this month to get up and running with her.
– get up to see Rachel Sanders at least once; Jen brought it up recently, so hopefully that will be a go.
– do some coursing with him as well; Check.
– keep him fit; I actually just added this for Phin. His metabolism is finally slowing down and between that and the raw food he has finally put on weight. A little too much actually. He is still lean by “normal” standards, but I need to measure out his food more carefully and make sure he’s getting plenty of structured exercise too. Again with us going from two classes a week (plus daycare, plus training, plus puppy shenanigans) to none and him turning into an adult dog, he has fallen off a bit from where he was physically. No biggie, I just need to be more aware and make sure he’s staying fit. Though I am not complaining that he has calmed down a bit! 😉

Diego:
– stay fit, happy and healthy, give him lots of love for being a good “TM”; Check! He even has been playing a bit of agility–tunnels, 4″ jumps, 2x2s and tables. He does get a kick out of it.

So I guess i have to say I am actually pretty proud of myself for sticking to my plans as well as I have.

Time to start crafting more goals for 2013!

Leave a Reply

